Rajya Sabha Chairman suspended 8 MPs for a week

Rajya Sabha suspended eight members for a week, including TMC leader Derek O’Brien, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)’s Sanjay singh, Congress’s Rajeev Satav and CPM’s KK Ragesh for the ruckus in the Rajya Sabha a day before by the opposition members during the passage of two farm bills. Apart from O’Brien, TMC’s Dola Sen, Congress leaders Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Syed Nasir Hussain and CPM’s Elamaram Kareem.

The suspended MPs refused to the leave the house, saying they were not even given a chance to explain themselves, because of which the house was adjourned multiple times.

Earlier Chairman Venkayya Naidu said that it’s a sad day for the democracy and “unfortunate” and “condemnable”, he rejected the no confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narain Singh citing rules. Naidu defended the Deputy Chairman and said that he has gone on records of the house and Deputy Chairman has followed the rule.

Two key farm bills, dubbed as the biggest reform in agriculture by the government, were on Sunday passed by Rajya Sabha with voice vote amid unprecedented unruly scenes by protesting opposition members who were demanding that the proposed legislation be referred to a House panel for greater scrutiny.

The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill,and the second bill, The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement of Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, provides for a national framework on farming agreements that protects and empowers farmers to engage with agri-business firms, processors, wholesalers, exporters or large retailers for farm services, as reported by a news channel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here